Subscribe Now Don't miss anything we post. Join our email list today!

Types Of Yoga And Their Benefits

These Different Areas Of Yoga Will Help You Decide Where To Focus Your Practice

For anyone just starting to research yoga, it can be very intimidating trying to figure out which yoga is right you. While taking the first step towards trying yoga is great, yoga comes in many shapes and forms. Each form of yoga has its own focus and benefits. Knowing which type of yoga will have the best impact on your body and fitness goals is important.

The following article describes the 5 different types of yoga that you can hone your practice in. Your best bet may be to try each one and see which one best fits you. This is especially helpful if you don’t know your how your body will react to each form of practice. Once you have sampled each one, you will have a better idea of which path you want to travel down for the near future.

See the article below and be sure to pass this along to any of your friends that are just getting started with yoga and could use some guidance on where to hone their practice.


1. Bikram Yoga:

image source: equally wed

This type of yoga is often practiced in a hot and humid environment where the temperature is about 40.6 degree Celsius. There are about 26 different poses in Bikram yoga.  Some of these postures are Pranayama, Ardha Chandrasana, Pada Hastasana, Utkatasana, Garurasana, Dandayamana Janushirasana, Dandayamana Dhanurasana, Tuladandasana, and Dandamayana Bibhaktapada Paschimottanasana

2. Hatha Yoga:

image source: balanceandbliss

The history of Hatha yoga dates back to the 15th century. Unlike other forms, this type of yoga is slow-paced, tender & focused on meditation. The main purpose of this form of yoga is that it introduces beginners to yoga with the basic asanas & relaxation techniques. This form of yoga includes all types of modern yoga styles. Following are the simple Hatha yoga poses that you can practice even at home.

Ardha Chandrasana, Chakrasana, Majrasana, Dhanurasana, Setu bandh, kakasana, Gomukhasana, Bhujangasana, Pada Hastasana, Tadasana, Trikonasana & a few more.

3. Vinyasa Yoga / Ashtanga Yoga:

image source: yogajournal

Vinyasa yoga is popularly known as Ashtanga yoga. The reason why Vinyasa yoga is different from all other forms of yoga is that it includes postures as well as breathing techniques. Vinyasa yoga along with poses is synchronized with breathing. The very first thing when doing Vinyasa yoga is to begin with Sun Salutations. This is also popularly known as Suryanamaskara.

4. Kundalini Yoga:

image source: yogajournal

This form of yoga is also known as ‘yoga for awareness’. This yoga introduces you to your inner soul. There are about 7 types of yoga chakras included in Kundalini yoga. Following are the various poses included in this yoga. Yoga chakras come together and form the base of Kundalini yoga.

Crow pose
Stretch pose
Cobra pose
Sat Kriya

5. Anusara Yoga / Iyenger Yoga:

image source: healthylivinglondon

This form of yoga is known as the most spiritual forms of yoga than any other types. It focuses on your inner self, mind & soul. This form of yoga introduces you to your inner self. The commonly practiced Anusara yoga asanas are:

Ardha Chandrasana
Parivritta Trikonasana
Ubhaya Padangusthasana
Vaparita Salabasana
The most vital benefit of this form of yoga is that it increases your lungs capacity.

To your health and wellness!

See the original article from StyleCraze here.

Did you enjoy this article?
Signup today and receive free updates straight in your inbox. We will never share or sell your email address.
I agree to have my personal information transfered to AWeber ( more information )