Subscribe Now Don't miss anything we post. Join our email list today!

Feeling disconnected? Align your chakras with these poses.

Practice these yoga poses to align your chakras and instantly feel happier.

Are you familiar with the chakras? They are located along the spine and each of them contributes to the energy coming from a certain part of our bodies. When your chakras are misaligned, you may find yourself feeling unhappy, out of control, and disconnected from the rest of the world. Misaligned chakras can contribute to many emotional and physical ailments, so it’s important to be able to recognize when they’re out of sync to be able to correct them and feel more balanced.

Practicing yoga is an easy and effective way to align your chakras. Try the poses below so you can start feeling more energized and balanced every day.

By Joanne Moules


1. Root Chakra – Mountain Pose

1_mountain pose

The Root Chakra, or Muladhara and is located at the base of the spine. The Root Chakra channels grounding energy from the earth to help us feel more connected, safe, and provided for. When our Root Chakra is out of alignment, we experience imbalances in our physical body and our sense of security is diminished. When balanced, we feel confident and have a better sense of belonging.

Mountain Pose is a great posture for us to connect to earth energy through all four corners of our feet and invite it upward to feel grounded and nourish our entire body.


2. Sacral Chakra – Revolved Triangle Pose

1_revolved triangle

Our Sacral Chakra, or Svadisthana is located in the pelvic area and is our playful creative center and home of our self-expression, emotions and pleasure. An imbalance can make us feel sexually frustrated, emotionally repressed and unable to find our passion in life. A balanced Sacral Chakra allows us to connect easily with others and find joy in everything.

Revolved Triangle Pose stimulates the abdominal organs to promote the energy to circulate within our Sacral Chakra, and helps the yogi remain grounded in the present moment.


3. Solar Plexus Chakra – Boat Pose


The Solar Plexus Chakra, or Manipura connects us to solar energy to provide a sense of willpower, determination and an internal heat within our belly. Located at the navel center, the solar plexus is the core of our identity, our personality and our ego.

If our solar plexus is unbalanced, we can experience low self-esteem and stress. When the solar plexus is balanced, we feel more confident and capable. Since the solar plexus is located near the navel, Boat Pose is a great yoga pose to help activate your core and your internal fire to help align energy blocks or imbalances.


4. Heart Chakra – Low Lunge

1_low lunge

A balanced Heart Chakra, or Anahata enables us to feel compassion, generosity, respect and a connection with others. To be fulfilled we need unconditional love, and the Heart Chakra is our gateway to allowing love into our lives.

Keeping the Heart Chakra nourished allows us to remain capable of giving and receiving love, as well as developing our spirituality. If our Heart Chakra is unbalanced, we can lose our sense of connection with others and love for ourselves. Low Lunge invites our heart space to open, be the focus of this pose, and to align our Heart Chakra energy.


5. Throat Chakra – Easy Pose with Chanting


The Throat Chakra, or Vishuddha is the energy that helps us speak and communicate authentically with ourselves and others. The Throat Chakra can have a large impact on our originality, speaking our truth and even having the confidence to speak in public.

When unaligned, we can experience ear, nose, and throat problems along with a block of creativity and our authentic voice. When balanced, we can easily express the creative and life-affirming aspects of ourselves with confidence. Chanting is a beautiful practice to open the the Throat Chakra and help keep the energy aligned.


6. Third Eye Chakra – Dolphin Pose


The Third Eye Chakra, or Ajna chakra is situated at the brow point and is known as our “all seeing eye” as well as the point of our intuition. We can access clear thought and self-reflection through our third eye chakra as well as inner guidance to help us on our life path.

When our Third Eye Chakra is misaligned, we can experience confusion and physical symptoms such as headaches, migraines and dizziness. When aligned, we see things clearly and without them being colored by our opinions, ego or past. Dolphin Pose increases circulation to our face and our brain which in turn stimulates the Third Eye Chakra.


7. Crown Chakra – Balancing Butterfly

1_balanced butterfly

The Crown Chakra, or Sahasrara is our highest chakra and varies from the other chakras because is not a “wheel” or crossing point of the energies, but rather an opening. The seventh chakra is our center of trust, devotion and inspiration, as well as the seat of our consciousness that connects us to the infinite and limitless.

When the Crown Chakra is misaligned or overactive, you may experience a spiritual distrust, a sense of negativity about life, and a disconnectedness from your body and earthly matters. An aligned Crown Chakra brings peace, joy, serenity and positivity to your life. Balanced Butterfly Pose invites concentration, peace and balance – perfect to align your Crown Chakra.

Read the full article here

All images courtesy of Joanne Moules /

Did you enjoy this article?
Signup today and receive free updates straight in your inbox. We will never share or sell your email address.
I agree to have my personal information transfered to AWeber ( more information )